DAISY

The acronym DAISY means Digital Accessible Information System [www.daisy.org]. DAISY contains the technical standard which libraries for the blind all over the world offer in cooperation with the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) and representatives of people with reading difficulties, to supply people with print disabilities with literature.

The major goal of the international DAISY Consortium is to offer any information at the time of publication, in a format which is accessible for all, comfortably to handle and cost-neutral. Based on the UNO convention for the protection of the rights of disabled people, the core principle “Access to information is a fundamental human right” is the focus of all IFLA and DAISY activities.

The realization of these ambitious goals means familiarizing many developers and user groups with the DAISY technology, to develop offers further and to form an extensive dialogue between the providers and the users of information. DAISY applications are used throughout the world, also in developing countries. Internationally, there are already 200,000 DAISY books which are available in libraries for visually impaired and print disabled people.

In addition to internet, DAISY is the most important internationally developed and globally used information technology for people with significant reading difficulties. DAISY provides:

Partners &
Sponsors:

DAISY

Die Abkürzung DAISY steht für Digital Accessible Information System [www.daisy.org]. DAISY umfasst die technischen Standards und Entwicklungen, die die Blindenbüchereien der Welt gemeinsam mit der International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) und verschiedenen Interessenvertretungen lesebehinderter Menschen anbieten, um Personen mit funktionellen Leseeinschränkungen mit Literatur zu versorgen.

Herausragendes Ziel der Arbeit des global agierenden DAISY-Konsortiums ist es, jegliche Informationen zur Zeit ihrer Veröffentlichung in einem für ausnahmslos alle Menschen zugänglichen und komfortabel zu handhabenden Format kostenneutral anzubieten. Basierend auf der UNO-Konvention für den Schutz der Rechte behinderter Menschen bildet in diesem Zusammenhang die Kernaussage "Access to Information is a fundamental human right" den Schwerpunkt aller IFLA- und DAISY-Aktivitäten.

Die Umsetzung dieser ehrgeizigen Ziele erfordert es, DAISY-Technologien und -Anwendungen breiten Entwickler- und Nutzergruppen näher zu bringen, die Angebotspalette weiter zu entwickeln und einen umfangreichen Dialog der Informationsanbieter mit den Anwendern zu gestalten. DAISY-Anwendungen stehen für Projekte weltweit, auch für den Einsatz in Entwicklungsländern. International existieren bereits über 200.000 DAISY-Bücher, die in engagierten Bibliotheken Blinden, Sehbehinderten und Legasthenikern zur Verfügung stehen.

Ergänzend zum Internet ist DAISY die wichtigste international entwickelte und weltweit angewendete Informationstechnologie für Menschen mit erheblichen Leseeinschränkungen. DAISY bietet:

Partner &
Sponsoren: